Visual handbook #1

by raymanookian

I figured I needed to gather all of the information I have in a neutrally and structured manner. The rationale for this is two fold:

  1. I wanted have all of the examples I have collected in one place
  2. I wanted to give the reader of this project a central point to access my latter findings. By this I mean, if I’m warranting something specific, the viewer/reader has a central resource with is untainted by my own theory or findings

The very nature of these types of documents means that the data collected needs to be organised using a familiar filing method. As it stands now, the intention is to organise the examples into chronological order of organisations being analysed in alphabetical order, and then organise by month and year, January 2000 through to December 2010.

In addition to this, there is also two other sets of information being applied and they are, the ‘audience’ – they place in which the poster was displayed or advertised, and the ‘issue’ being communicated. Overall, it is a qualitative and denotative collating process.

It is already providing me with some initial thoughts in terms of how to break down this information further and has highlighted a few characteristics that had not been noticed before.

I am beginning to wonder whether I should continue producing this document with each of the organisations material arranged together, for example all work produced within any given month and year, to see if there is any specific cross-over’s, clashes etc. What I do not want them to be doing is to have them appear as though they are competing. I have another idea that involves mapping/plotting these onto to a grid to see how they cluster and see if there have been times when they have all been competing with each other for our mental space in general, aside from anything specific.

This document may also prove useful as a point of reference when I come to writing my arguments, something to which demonstrates a point in neutral/unbiased terms. Another aspect it will bring is an authenticity that is going to be invaluable to a potentially sceptical audience.

Below are a couple of examples of the spreads:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

