Mapping #2

by raymanookian

I began looking further into ways in which I could breakdown the information I had. I was interested to look at how these brands had evolved in the past decade to see the nuances and techniques. How have they change (if at all), and if so, how and why. Admittedly this is all quantitive research, the more finite research needed to be carried out with the pieces individually, but it was the quantity, and by that I mean, the actually authorised material that Amnesty had organised during this period. Further questions for investigation were:

  • What this material specific to particular events or was is generic, public awareness advertising.
  • Who was it aimed at? Existing supporters, new audiences or both?
  • What was the style and tone?
  • How on message (brand) were they?

I also produced an information graphic which was based on the amount of posters that were being produced and when for a quick reference guide. What would be interesting to note, if there was a sudden spike in activity, why this may have happened and what was Amnesty actually communicating within its visual outputs.

As interesting as it is to note the immediate response to these piece. the format is which I have chosen, made it very difficult to get the whole picture. Partly, because the grid I chose to use was a square based grid and the adverts are a mix of portrait and landscape pieces of varying size. I had hoped that by making the examples uniform in size and focussing directly on the centre of the poster that this might focus the attention of the view into what was being transmitted, but unfortunately, what ends up happening is given (literally) a very limited view of the poster as a whole. The significance of some of the minor (but important) details were being lost.
I initially planned to separate the examples I have so as to review the evolution of the material in terms of the core principle of the said organisation. For example, one of Amnesty Internationals core aims is to see a world where torture, in any shape of form, not longer forms a part of our society. I wanted to investigate from the sample I have collected, how much of their output is dedicated to it. Now clearly, I don’t have the entire catalogue of material, but my sample is reasonably large and large enough to a least try to review and access any finds.

Below are the examples I have produced.

